MINUTES ST. VRAIN VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT RE-1J BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING

OPENING OF REGULAR MEETING

The Board of Education of the St. Vrain Valley School District met on August 28, 2024 at the Educational Services Center Boardroom, 395 South Pratt Parkway, Longmont, Colorado. The Regular Meeting was called to order by Board of Education President Karen Ragland at 6:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present:

Jim Berthold, Vice President, Director District C
Meosha Brooks, Member, Director District D (via Webex)
Jocelyn Gilligan, Treasurer, Director District E
Sarah Hurianek, Secretary, Director District F
Geno Lechuga, Member, Director District G
Karen Ragland, President, Director District B
Jackie Weiss, Assistant Secretary, Director District A

Board Members Absent (Excused):

None

St. Vrain Valley School District Staff Present:

Michelle Bourgeois, Chief Technology Officer
Matt Buchler, Administrator on Special Assignment
Martha Bustillos, Translation and Interpretation Coordinator
Greg Fieth, Designated Election Official
Priscilla Gonzalez, Translation and Interpretation Services
Dr. Don Haddad, Superintendent
Dr. Jackie Kapushion, Deputy Superintendent
Fiorella Martinez, Translation and Interpretation Services
Tim O'Neill, General Counsel
Richard Peebles, Executive Director of Safety and Security
Dr. Dina Perfetti-Deany, Area Assistant Superintendent
Tony Whiteley, Chief Financial Officer

AMENDMENTS TO THE AGENDA (2.0)

None

VISITORS (3.0)

Kara Smallwood, President, St. Vrain Valley Education Association – did not address the Board.

Student Parade Leadership Presentation:

Carrie Adams - Leadership Academy Program Director, Silver Creek High School Claire Atteberry - student, Silver Creek High School Blake Baker - student, Skyline High School

AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION (4.0)

There were no members of the public who spoke to the board.

SUPERINTENDENT UPDATE (5.0)

Dr. Haddad provided an update on Public Education On Parade, student count, and cocurricular programs.

REPORTS (6.0)

FY24 Fourth Quarter Public Gifts to Schools (6.1)

Tony Whiteley provided the Board of Education with a list of public gifts given to the St. Vrain Valley School District for the fourth quarter of the 2024-2024 school year totaling \$305,203.95 The total of all the gifts given to the District for the 2023-2024 school year is \$1,020,022.34.

CONSENT ITEMS (7.0)

Geno Lechuga moved to approve Consent Agenda Items 7.1. Jackie Weiss seconded.

1. Approval: Purchase of Office Furniture for Rose Building

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, yes].

ACTION ITEMS (8.0)

Ratify the Intergovernmental Agreements Pertaining to Participation in the 2024 Coordinated Election (8.1)

Jim Berthold moved that the Board of Education ratify the Intergovernmental Agreement to participate in the 2024 coordinated election with the Counties of Boulder, Weld, Larimer and the City and County of Broomfield. Sarah Hurianek seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, yes].

Approval of Sale of Surplus Technology Products (8.2)

Jocelyn Gilligan moved that the Board of Education approve the Sale of Surplus Technology Products (iPads) and Services to Cal State Electronics, Inc., DBA: Total Technology, for an estimated sale amount of \$3,673,040. Geno Lechuga seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, yes].

DISCUSSION ITEMS (9.0)

None

ADJOURNMENT (10.0)

President Karen Ragland announced that the next Regular Meeting will be held at the ESC Boardroom on September 11, 2024 at 6:00 p.m.

Sarah Hurianek moved to adjourn the meeting at 6:22 p.m. Jocelyn Gilligan seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous acclamation: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, yes].

Respectfully submitted,

Sarah Hurianek, Secretary of the Board of Education

Diane Hargash, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Kristie Jonason, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Read and approved or corrected and approved on September 11, 2024.