MINUTES ST. VRAIN VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT RE-1J BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING

OPENING OF REGULAR MEETING

The Board of Education of the St. Vrain Valley School District met on November 13, 2024 at the Educational Services Center Boardroom, 395 South Pratt Parkway, Longmont, Colorado. The Regular Meeting was called to order by Board of Education President Karen Ragland at 6:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present:

Jim Berthold, Vice President, Director District C
Meosha Brooks, Member, Director District D
Jocelyn Gilligan, Treasurer, Director District E
Sarah Hurianek, Secretary, Director District F
Geno Lechuga, Member, Director District G
Karen Ragland, President, Director District B
Jackie Weiss, Assistant Secretary, Director District A

Board Members Absent (Excused):

None

St. Vrain Valley School District Staff Present:

Janay Bird, Fine Arts Coordinator
Matt Buchler, Administrator on Special Assignment
Martha Bustillos, Translation and Interpretation Coordinator
Kahle Charles, Administrator on Special Assignment
Erick Finnestead, Principal, Silver Creek High School
Priscilla Gonzalez, Translation and Interpretation Services
Dr. Jackie Kapushion, Deputy Superintendent
Brian Lamer, Assistant Superintendent of Operations
Dr. Diane Lauer, Chief Academic Officer
Fiorella Martinez, Translation and Interpretation Services
Timothy O'Neill, General Counsel
Richard Peebles, Executive Director of Safety and Security
Dr. Dina Perfetti-Deany, Area Assistant Superintendent
Tony Whiteley, Chief Financial Officer

AMENDMENTS TO THE AGENDA (2.0)

None

VISITORS (3.0)

Kara Smallwood, President, St. Vrain Valley Education Association – did not address the Board.

Orchestra Student Recognition

Erie High School Orchestra Teacher - Monica Smiley Erie High School student - Vittoria Pugina

Congressional Art Award Recognition

Silver Creek High School student - Braeden Macchia

Cybersecurity Presentation

Innovation Center Instructional Program Consultant - Beth Cerrone Silver Creek High School student - Kaylee Crouthamel 2023-2024 Niwot High School graduate - Sienna Arellano

AGILE Presentation

Innovation Center Instructional Program Consultant - Beth Cerrone Niwot High School Computer Science Teacher - Teresa Ewing LaunchED student - Ace Trout Frederick High School student - Jackson Watts

Mattie Prodanovic - Hilltop Securities; presented information related to Action items 8.2 and 8.3.

AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION (4.0)

There were no members of the public who spoke to the board.

SUPERINTENDENT UPDATE (5.0)

Deputy Superintendent Dr. Jackie Kapushion provided an update on the passage of ballot issue 5C, Community Thank you Drone Shows, Veterans Day events, P-TEACH Conference, school open house nights, Elementary Choral festival and other music events, Niwot High School Gymnastic State Championship, district athletics, and Katie Cossette National award recognition.

REPORTS (6.0)

None

CONSENT ITEMS (7.0)

Geno Lechuga moved to approve Consent Agenda Items 7.1 through 7.10. Sarah Hurianek seconded.

- 1. Approval: Staff Terminations/Leaves
- 2. Approval: Staff Appointments
- 3. Approval: Minutes for the October 9,2024 Regular Meeting, October 23, 2024 Study Session and October 23, 2024 Regular Meeting
- 4. Approval: Purchase of Vehicles and Equipment
- 5. Approval: Amendment to Construction Manager/General Contractor (CM/GC) Contract for the Proposed New PK-8
- 6. Approval: Fee Adjustment to Design Consultant Contract with Cuningham Group Architecture for the New PK-8
- 7. Approval: Consultant Fee Adjustment to Design Consultant Contract with Anderson Mason Dale for the Innovation Center Addition/Renovation
- 8. Approval: Fee Adjustment to Design Consultant Contract with Wold Architects and Engineers for the St. Vrain Community Montessori School Project
- Approval: Amendment to Construction Manager/General (CM/GC) Contract for New Montessori School
- 10. Approval: Joint Use Agreement with the Town of Erie

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, yes].

ACTION ITEMS (8.0)

<u>Approval of Resolution Proclaiming American Education Week, November 18-22,</u> 2024 (8.1)

Jim Berthold moved that the Board of Education approve a Resolution Proclaiming November 18-22, 2024 as American Education Week. Jocelyn Gilligan seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, yes].

Approval of Bond Resolution (8.2)

Jocelyn Giligan moved that the Board of Education authorize the issuance of General Obligation Bonds from the voter authorization approved November 5, 2024, and further,

authorize Tony Whiteley, Chief Financial Officer, to execute all applicable documents. Meosha Brooks seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, yes].

Adoption of Resolution to Defease and Redeem Bonds (8.3)

Meosha Brooks moved that the Board of Education adopt the Resolution to Defease and Redeem the District's 2016C bonds, and further, authorize Tony Whiteley, Chief Financial Officer, to execute all applicable documents. Sarah Hurianek seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, yes].

DISCUSSION ITEMS (9.0)

None

ADJOURNMENT (10.0)

President Karen Ragland announced that the next Regular Meeting will be held at the ESC Boardroom on December 11, 2024 at 6:00 p.m.

Sarah Hurianek moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:38 p.m. Jocelyn Gilligan seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous acclamation: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, yes].

Respectfully submitted,

Sarah Hurianek, Secretary of the Board of Education

Diane Hargash, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Kristie Jonason, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Read and approved or corrected and approved on December 11, 2024.