MINUTES ST. VRAIN VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT RE-1J BOARD OF EDUCATION STUDY SESSION

OPENING OF MEETING

The Board of Education of the St. Vrain Valley School District met on March 15, 2017 at Timberline PK-8, 233 East Mountain View Avenue, Longmont, Colorado. The Study Session was called to order by Board of Education President Robert J. Smith at 6:04 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present:

Debbie Lammers, Secretary, Director District B Dr. Richard Martyr, Member, Director District E Paula Peairs, Treasurer, Director District F Joie Siegrist, Vice President, Director District A Amory Siscoe, Assistant Secretary, Director District G Robert J. Smith, President, Director District C

Board Members Absent (Excused):

John Ahrens, Member, Director District D

St. Vrain Valley School District Staff Present:

Stacy Davis, Director of Safety and Emergency Management Greg Fieth, Chief Financial Officer Dr. Don Haddad, Superintendent of Schools Laura Hess, Executive Director of Special Education Jackie Kapushion, Area 1 Assistant Superintendent Brian Lamer, Assistant Superintendent of Operations Dr. Diane Lauer, Assistant Superintendent of Priority Programs and Academic Support Vicki Mair, Benefits Specialist Kathy McCall, Instructional Coach Mark Mills, Area 2 Assistant Superintendent Ella Padilla, Assistant Superintendent Ella Padilla, Assistant Superintendent Terry Schueler, Financial Services Advisor Sandra Vasquez, Literacy Coordinator

Visitors:

Board Minutes March 15, 2017 Page 2

Jim Bechtold, Retired District Bus Dispatcher

Carolyn Storz and Barbara Zink, SVVSD Parents-present to participate in Dyslexia Initiative discussion.

AMENDMENTS TO THE AGENDA

Agenda was accepted as presented.

Topics Discussed:

- Healthcare Update-Ella Padilla/Vicki Mair.
- Dyslexia Initiative-Dr. Diane Lauer/Laura Hess/Kathy McCall/Sandra Vasquez/ SVVSD Parents Carolyn Storz and Barbara Zink.

No action was taken for any of the above discussion topics.

AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION

None

ADJOURNMENT

By unanimous acclamation, the meeting was adjourned at 8:19 p.m.: [John Ahrens, absent; Debbie Lammers, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Paula Peairs, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes; Amory Siscoe, absent; Bob Smith, yes].

Respectfully submitted,

Debbie Lammers, Secretary of the Board of Education

Barb Steege, Secretary to the Board of Education

Read and approved or corrected and approved on April 12, 2017.