Recognize your favorite St. Vrain educator with an Encore Award- deadline Wednesday, March 15th

The Education Foundation for the St. Vrain Valley would like to remind the St. Vrain community that Encore Award Nomination forms are due Wednesday, March 15th. The Encore Awards program provides an opportunity for students, parents, teachers, staff, volunteers --- anyone in the St. Vrain Valley community --- to recognize and honor individual teachers at the Pre-K – 12 levels who exemplify excellence in teaching. A review committee convenes and selects three teachers from every St. Vrain Valley School to be invited to the Tribute to Teachers celebration in May. One teacher from each school receives an Encore Award. Additionally, six exceptional teachers from St. Vrain are recognized with a Spotlight Award and one outstanding teacher receives the Teacher of the Year Award. 
Tribute to Teachers is a fun celebration of the educators in St. Vrain Valley Schools. This year marks the 10 year anniversary of the event. Over 550 members of the community will be in attendance, including the 155 teachers to be recognized. The top winners will receive prizes, including a car lease from King Automotive and goodie bags filled with generous donations from local businesses. This year, the Keynote speaker will be John Couch, Vice President of Education at Apple. Musical guests will include the Frederick High School Handbell Ensemble led by Christopher Thomas and the Timberline PK-8 Student Mariachi Band led by Tung Pham. 
Tribute to Teachers is a unique event. According to 2016 Spotlight Recipient, Deanna Doughty of Prairie Ridge Elementary, “The Education Foundation has given teachers across the district a chance to be recognized and celebrated unlike any other district.” It is a night to show appreciation for our hard-working, dedicated teachers. On being nominated, Adam Wellington of Coal Ridge Middle School says: “Being nominated for an Encore Award twice now has been a wonderful surprise and honor, as it comes from parents, students, and co-workers –  the community that I teach in. Like any teacher, I never went into this thinking of awards, but it was a great feeling to be recognized for what I do as an educator.” Mr. Wellington also received the 2016 Spotlight Award.
Ashley McIntyre, a teacher at Timberline PK-8 is the first recipient of the Teacher of the Year Award. Ms. McIntyre was nominated by five students and a colleague. On being nominated, Ashley says: “To be nominated by my students and colleagues is, by far, the greatest honor I have ever received in my professional career.  When I go home and I read the notes from those who nominated me, I am filled with a sense of gratitude for the opportunity to do what I do. On those days when it all feels overwhelming and exhausting, I take a moment and remember that it isn’t a thankless job. In fact, it’s the greatest job one could hope for.”
There is no limit on the number of nomination forms an individual can submit. You can learn more about the Encore Awards Program and submit a nomination form here:

Featured: The 2016 Spotlight Award Recipients. From left to right, Robert Stahly, Longmont High School; Katie Strock, Skyline High School; Adam Wellington, Coal Ridge Middle School; Betsey Beamer, Erie Elementary; Deanna Doughty, Prairie Ridge Elementary; Amy Jennett, Burlington Elementary